I want to start by saying that I absolutely LOVE getting to be a mom! What an amazing task that has been set before me. Never before have I been so joyful or so challenged in my daily life. Parenthood is an experience that you just don't "get" until you're in it! This new chapter in our life holds so many exciting moments and I wouldn't trade it for the world. God has truly blessed John and I with our little man Hosea (three months old on Saturday!) and even after such a short time we can't imagine our life without him. 

One thing I was really praying for upon our return from Haiti were good friends. Getting married young and having a baby soon after meant that we weren't in the same stage of life as our friends. We had a strong desire for a sense of community and people to go through life with. Well, my prayers have seriously been answered! I have had opportunities GALORE to get involved with other women, moms, and community happenings.  Right now I participate in a weekly moms group, ladies book club, ESL classes at church, yoga, MOPS meetings, breastfeeding support group, cloth diapering meetings, playgroups, moms nights out, and library story time. I'm getting to know some of the ladies and moms through these activities and my life is truly enriched by them. I'm also getting to do quite a few document translations for some extra income which is a huge blessing and also keeps my mind sharp and my Spanish in practice. I thought being a stay-at-home-mom would be a breeze but boy, am i one busy bee! I barely have time to take a shower or throw a load of clothes in the laundry what with taking care of a newborn, but I absolutely love my life right now! I try to take advantage of his naps to get things done but I'd much rather just stare at his innocent little face.

Hosea is growing so darn fast. He weighed 6 lbs 7 oz at birth and almost three months later is at 12 lbs! I can't believe that he is already outgrowing some of his tiny little clothes. He coos and smiles all the time, and only gets fussy if he's hungry or needs to be changed. He loves folk-y kids songs (and any type of music, really) and will calm down quickly when we turn on the music. He makes this motor boat noise when he sleeps and it is adorable! His cheeks are so fat that when he lays on his side, his mouth gets squished into this cute little design i like to call "flower-mouth". When he hears his dad's voice he looks all over the place to find him. He is so curious about the world around him and holds his head up marvelously. My favorite thing right now is to smell him. seriously! He smells so good, it's a mixture of his dad and his honey apple baby soap. I could just breathe it in all day! He is such a joy. And as of two weeks ago, he's sleeping through the night. :-)
Even though I love getting a full night of sleep, I do miss getting up in the middle of the night to feed him. Just me and him sitting together in the rocking chair, both of us half asleep, lights out, treasuring the moment. There is nothing like having a newborn!
 Hopefully I'll be able to post more often to update everyone and share pics and stories from our exciting life right now.

Until next time!
A



Leave a Reply.